## ICCBR Video Competition 2017

Competition at the Twenty-Fifth International Conference on Case-Based Reasoning (ICCBR 2017)

> Trondheim, Norway June 2017

Amélie Cordier and Michael W. Floyd (Eds.)

## Chairs

Amélie Cordier	Hoomano, France
Michael W. Floyd	Knexus Research, USA

## Awards Committee

Agnar Aamodt	Norwegian University of Science and Technology,
	Norway
Isabelle Bichindaritz	State University of New York Oswego, USA
Derek Bridge	University College Cork, Ireland
Alexandra Coman	Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Stelios Kapetanakis	University of Brighton, UK
Cindy Marling	Ohio University, USA
Santiago Ontanon	Drexel University, USA
Enric Plaza	IIIA-CSIC, Catalonia (Spain)
Jonathan Rubin	Philips Research North America, USA
Ian Watson	University of Auckland, New Zealand

## Preface

We are pleased to present the inaugural International Conference on Case-Based Reasoning Video Competition. The competition was inspired by the successful series of AAAI Video Competitions, with the motivation of promoting exciting CBR research and applications. Our goal is that the videos, all a maximum of 5 minutes in length, will introduce students and experts from other fields to CBR, highlight new research, serve as educational tools in the classroom, and provide outreach to the general public.

Five videos were accepted into the competition, all of which underwent a peer-review process. The accepted videos provide an interesting mix of educational content, state-of-the-art CBR research, system demonstration, and entertainment. Our Awards Committee, composed of a cross-section of CBR experts, watched each of the videos and ranked them according to their content and quality. These rankings were used to select award nominees and winners. The award winners were announced at ICCBR 2017 in Trondheim.

The abstracts contained in these proceedings provide a brief overview of the videos, their content, and any related publications. The accepted videos are available online, and we encourage everyone to view and share the full videos. We would like to thank the ICCBR 2017 Conference Organizers for putting together an excellent conference, the Workshop Chairs for editing the workshop proceedings, the Awards Committee for their work selecting award winners, and the video authors for the time and effort it took to produce such an excellent collection of videos! Hopefully everyone enjoys the videos as much as we do.

June 2017

Amélie Cordier Michael W. Floyd