

GamiFIN Conference 2021

Proceedings of

the 5th International GamiFIN Conference

Levi, Finland, April 7-9, 2021

(Organized as an online conference)

Edited by

Mila Bujić

Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland

Jonna Koivisto

Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland

Juho Hamari

Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland

GamiFIN 2021

Proceedings

This volume of CEUR-WS Proceedings contains 20 papers presented at the 5th International GamiFIN Conference (GamiFIN 2021). The conference was held as an online conference on April 7-9, 2021.

Copyright © 2021 for the individual papers by the papers' authors. Copying permitted only for private and academic purposes. This volume is published and copyrighted by its editors.

Preface

The GamiFIN conference is an annual international academic conference on gamification with rigorous double-blind international peer-review practices. The conference brings together a community of researchers and practitioners to present results from their latest work regarding gamification.

The fifth international GamiFIN conference was organised by the Gamification Group from Tampere University, Finland and took place on April 7-9, 2021. Due to the global pandemic situation, the conference was held online. GamiFIN 2021 was chaired by Professor of Gamification, Juho Hamari and gamification scholar, Dr. Jonna Koivisto.

GamiFIN 2021 conference was proud to have two keynote speakers who are among the top international experts in their fields: Professor Kristian Kiili (Tampere University, Finland), who has conducted extensive research in the areas of gamification and game-based learning; and Assistant Professor Elisa Mekler (Aalto University, Finland), who is an internationally recognized expert studying motivational and emotional aspects of user experience in games and gamification.

GamiFIN 2021 included five academic paper sessions: Gamification & education, Gamification & health, Psychology of gamification, Gamification & culture, and Gamification & rising industries. The session themes were based on the themes of the accepted academic papers. Altogether, 20 academic research papers were accepted to be presented at the conference. GamiFIN participants came from all over the world including Norway, Sweden, Germany, United Kingdom, Colombia, Brazil, Czech Republic, Switzerland, South Africa, Denmark, Australia, Italy, Malta, Romania, Poland, Saudi Arabia, and Finland. The academic papers were gathered through a call for papers issued in autumn 2020. The conference management system EasyChair was utilized for paper submissions, with a double-blind peer review process being employed. The international program committee of the conference consisted of experts in various fields related to gamification. The acceptance rate for paper submissions was 35.1%.

The GamiFIN 2021 Best Paper award was presented to Henrik Wesseloh, Niklas Buddensiek, Tim Pantel, Felix Stein, Phillip Szelat, and Matthias Schumann for their paper "The role of gameful perception as a mediator for intrinsically motivating gamification". The GamiFIN 2021 Best Presentation award was presented to Jeanine Krath and Harald F. O. von Korflesch for "Designing gamification and persuasive systems: A systematic literature review".

In addition to the academic paper track, GamiFIN 2021 hosted its third doctoral consortium. Altogether seven doctoral students presented their work at the doctoral consortium, where they received feedback on their research projects from a panel consisting of the conference chairs and senior scholars in the field of gamification. Furthermore, GamiFIN 2021 featured a poster session, where eight posters on academic work-in-progress were presented. Altogether the conference was attended by approximately 70 participants.

May 2021

Mila Bujić Jonna Koivisto Juho Hamari

Organizing Committee

GamiFIN 2021 Conference and Program Chairs

Juho Hamari, Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland Jonna Koivisto, Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland

GamiFIN 2021 Organizing Chairs

Maria Törhönen, Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland Mattia Thibault, Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland

GamiFIN 2021 Proceedings Chairs

Mila Bujić, Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland Jonna Koivisto, Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland

GamiFIN 2021 Online Conference Technical Organization

Ana Tomé Klock, Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland Zampeta Nikoletta Legaki, Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland

GamiFIN 2021 Online Conference Extracurricular Chairs

Mattia Thibault, Tampere University, Finland

Oğuz Turan Buruk, Tampere University, Finland

Georgina Guillen, Tampere University, Finland

Program Committee

Ali Sunyaev, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Amon Rapp, University of Turin, Italy

Athanasios Mazarakis, Leibniz Information Centre for Economics, Germany

Fiona Fui-Hoon Nah, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA

J. Tuomas Harviainen, Tampere University, Finland

Juho Hamari, Tampere University, Finland

Kristian Kiili, Tampere University, Finland

Lennart Nacke, University of Waterloo, Canada

Mattia Thibault, Tampere University, Finland

Oğuz Turan Buruk, Tampere University, Finland

Sylvester Arnab, Coventry University, UK

Vivian Chen, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Welf H. Weiger, Georg-August-University of Göttingen, Germany

Reviewers of the academic papers

Agnessa Spanellis Jacey Minoi Peijun Hou

Anna-Leena Macey Jake Mcmullen Petros Lameras

Antero Lindstedt Joaquin Cestino Philipp A. Toussaint

Antti Koskinen Johann Giertz Riikka Aurava

Arianna Boldi Joseph Macey Sami Hyrynsalmi

Benjamin Li Katharina Jahn Sangwon Jung

Brian McCauley Kim Bul Sebastian Marin

Bruno Surace Lars de Wildt Simo Järvelä

Casey O'Donnell Lobna Hassan Simon Thanh-Nam Trang

Cataldo Musto Lorenzo Denicolai Simon Warsinsky

Ceylan Beşevli Luca Morini Sofie Pelsmakers

Chibuike Uzoechina Manuel Ninaus Stefan Stepanovic

Daisy Abbott Jia Marc Riar Stuart Hallifax

Daniel Fernandez Galeote Marcus Maloney Sukran Karaosmanoglu

Doru Pop Max Brede Sven Heidenreich

Eetu Wallius Melanie Fritsch Thomas Terkildsen

Eleonora Chiais Michael Loizou Tobias Kraemer

Eleonora Mencarini Miikka J. Lehtonen Tobias Scholz

Elvira G Rincon-Flores Minhua Ma Tobias Wolf

Fabiana Vernero Monica Fallon Tuomas Kari

Fitri Suraya Mohamad Nannan Xi Valerie Yu

Frank Bosman Nicola Whitton Veli-Matti Karhulahti

Georgina Guillen Nika Mozafari Wilk Oliveira

Gökçe Elif Baykal Nikoletta Zampeta Legaki Yalin Wang

Gustavo Tondello Oladapo Oyebode Zhao Zhao

Isabella Aura Paula Bräuer

Jaakko Vuorio Pauliina Tuomi