Preface to the Proceedings of the 2022 International Semantic Web Conference Posters, Demos and Industry Tracks

Anastasia Dimou¹, Armin Haller², Anna Lisa Gentile³ and Peter Ristoski⁴

Abstract

This volume contains short papers presented at ISWC2022: 21st International Semantic Web Conference October 23-27, 2022, held as a global online conference. We thank the ISWC General Chair, Claudia D'Amato of University of Bari, for her leadership in organizing the conference. We also thank the conference sponsors, listed at https://iswc2022.semanticweb.org/index.php/sponsors/ for their generous support. We are also grateful to Easychair for its highly functional conference management toolkit and CEUR-WS for its high-quality, volunteer-operated service to the computer science research community. The collection of papers in this proceedings were selected from those submitted to the Poster and Demonstration Track and the Industry Track of ISWC.

1. Posters and Demonstrations

The ISWC Posters and Demos Track offers an opportunity to present late-breaking research results, on-going research or resource projects, and speculative or innovative work in progress. This year, the track was chaired by Anastasia Dimou and Armin Haller. We received a total of 52 submissions of which 26 have been accepted.

The program committee, consisting of 55 members and the track chairs, accepted the 26 contributions with an average of 3 reviews per submission. The decisions were primarily based on relevance, originality, and clarity of the submissions. Promising submissions requiring shepherding were guided by the track chairs to reach their full potential. We thank our incredible program committee, comprising the following esteemed researchers (in alphabetical order).

- Alsayed Algergawy (University of Jena)
- Carlos Badenes-Olmedo (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid)
- Madhushi Bandara (University of Technology Sydney)

Woodstock'21: Symposium on the irreproducible science, June 07–11, 2021, Woodstock, NY

△ anastasia.dimou@kuleuven.be (A. Dimou); armin.haller@anu.edu.au (A. Haller); annalisa.gentile@ibm.com (A. L. Gentile); pristoski@ebay.com (P. Ristoski)

ttps://natadimou.com/ (A. Dimou)

1 0000-0003-2138-7972 (A. Dimou)

© 2022 Copyright for this paper by its authors. Use permitted under Creative Commons License Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0).

CEUR Workshop Proceedings (CEUR-WS.org)

 $^{^1} KU Leuven - Leuven. AI-Flanders Make, \ Jan\ Pieter\ de\ Nayerlaan\ 5,\ 2860,\ Sint-Katelijne-Waver,\ Belgium$

²Research School of Management and of Computer Science, Australian National University

³IBM Research, San Jose, CA, USA

⁴eBay, San Jose, CA, USA

- Andrew Bate (University of Oxford)
- Volha Bryl (Springer Nature)
- Shruthi Chari (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
- David Chaves-Fraga (KULeuven)
- Ioannis Chrysakis (FORTH-ICS, KULeuven, Ghent University)
- Diego Collarana (Enterprise Information System (EIS))
- Christophe Debruyne (Université de Liège)
- Daniil Dobri (Vienna University of Economics and Business)
- Hang Dong (University of Liverpool)
- Mauro Dragoni (Fondazione Bruno Kessler FBK-IRST)
- Vasilis Efthymiou (ICS-FORTH)
- Ehsan Emamirad (Australian National University)
- Pavlos Fafalios (Institute of Computer Science, FORTH-ICS)
- Daniel Faria (LASIGE, FCUL)
- Nicolas Ferranti (Vienna University of Economics and Business)
- Jade Franklin (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
- Dan Gruen (RPI)
- Peter Haase (metaphacts)
- Andreas Harth (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Fraunhofer IIS-SCS)
- Ali Hasnain (Royal College of Surgeon, Ireland)
- Yuan He (University of Oxford)
- Aidan Hogan (DCC, Universidad de Chile)
- Tomas Horvath Eötvös (Loránd University)
- Ana Iglesias (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid)
- Jyoti Leeka (Microsoft)
- Maxime Lefrancois (MINES Saint-Etienne)
- Ying-Chi Lin (Institute of Computer Science, Leipzig University)
- Pasquale Lisena (EURECOM)
- Giuseppe Loseto (LUM University "Giuseppe Degennaro")
- Jamie McCusker (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
- Michalis Mountantonakis (University of Crete and FORTH-ICS)
- Pouya Ghiasnezhad Omran (Australian National University)
- Francesco Osborne (The Open University)
- Harshvardhan J. Pandit (ADAPT Centre Trinity College Dublin)
- Charith Perera (Cardiff University)
- Madhawa Perera (Australian National University)
- Zhangcheng Qiang (Australian National University)
- Sergio Rodriguez Mendez (School of Computing / College of Engineering Computer Science. The Australian National University)
- Julian Rojas (Ghent University)

- Muhammad Salman (The Australian National University)
- Henrique Santos (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
- Floriano Scioscia (Polytechnic University of Bari)
- Mario Scrocca (Cefriel)
- Barış Sertkaya (Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences)
- Jennifer Sleeman (University of Maryland Baltimore County)
- Rita Sousa (LASIGE, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa)
- Dylan Van Assche (Ghent University)
- William Van Woensel (University of Dalhousie)
- Takahira Yamaguchi (Keio University)
- Ran Yu (GESIS Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences)
- Lihua Zhao (Tiger Analytics)
- Baifan Zhou (University of Oslo)

2. Industry Track

The Industry Track, this year chaired by Anna Lisa Gentile and Petar Ristoski, covers all aspects of innovative commercial or industrial-strength semantic technologies and Knowledge Graphs in order to showcase the state of adoption. This track received 15 papers for review, of which 8 were accepted (53.3% acceptance rate) as output of a single-blind review process. The 17 members of the Program Committee assessed each submission in terms of qualitative and quantitative business value, as well as the innovative aspects, impact and lessons learned of applying Knowledge Graph and Semantic Technologies in the application domain. We thank our incredible program committee, comprising the following esteemed researchers (in alphabetical order):

- Omar Alonso (Amazon)
- Kemafor Anyanwu (North Carolina State University)
- Ling Cai (University of California, Santa Barbara)
- Ronald Denaux (Amazon)
- Lorena Etcheverry (Universidad de la República)
- Peter Haase (metaphacts)
- Vanessa Lopez (IBM)
- Aleksandr Matiushkin (eBay)
- Paco Nathan (Derwen, Inc.)
- Andriy Nikolov (AstraZeneca)
- Enrico Palumbo (Spotify)
- Gabriele Picco (IBM Research)
- Dnyanesh Rajpathak (General Motors)
- Francois Scharffe (Knowledge Graph Conference)
- Basel Shbita (Information Sciences Institute)
- Zhejun Shen (eBay Inc)
- Kavitha Srinivas (IBM)