Preface

These proceedings contain the contributed papers for the Sixth International Workshop on Narrative Extraction from Texts (Text2Story2023¹) held in conjunction with the ECIR 2023 conference in Dublin, Ireland, on the 2nd of April 2023. Thirty two papers were submitted for peer-review to this workshop. Out of these, nineteen papers were accepted for this volume, nine as regular papers, and ten in the category of *Work in Progress, Demos and Dissemination*. Each submitted paper was reviewed by three members of an international programme committee. In addition to the selected papers, the workshop features two invited speakers: Georgiana Ifrim and Valentina Bartalesi. Georgiana Ifrim gave a talk entitled "Structured Summarisation of News at Scale". Valentina Bartalesi gave a talk entitled "Creating and Visualising Semantic Story Maps".

We would like to thank ECIR for hosting us, our keynote speakers, the programme committee, the paper authors, and the participants, who have made this workshop possible. Editors Ricardo Campos and Alípio Jorge were financed by National Funds through the FCT - Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia, I.P. (Portuguese Foundation for Science and Technology) within the project StorySense, with reference 2022.09312.PTDC.

Editors

Ricardo Campos (INESC TEC; Ci2 – Smart Cities Research Center – Polytechnic Institute of Tomar, Portugal)

Alípio M. Jorge (INESC TEC; University of Porto, Portugal) Adam Jatowt (University of Innsbruck, Austria) Sumit Bhatia (Adobe Media and Data Science Research Lab, India) Marina Litvak (Shamoon Academic College of Engineering, Israel)

Proceedings Chair

Conceição Rocha (INESC TEC) João Paulo Cordeiro (INESC TEC; University of Beira Interior)

In: R. Campos, A. Jorge, A. Jatowt, S. Bhatia, M. Litvak (eds.): Proceedings of the Text2Story'23 Workshop, Dublin (Republic of Ireland), 2-April-2023

© 0 2023 Copyright for this paper by its authors. Use permitted under Creative Commons License Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0).

¹https://text2story23.inesctec.pt

Programme Committee

Álvaro Figueira (INESC TEC & University of Porto) Andreas Spitz (University of Konstanz) Antoine Doucet (Université de La Rochelle) António Horta Branco (University of Lisbon) Anubhav Jangra (IIT Patna, Japan) Arian Pasquali (Faktion AI) Bart Gajderowicz (University of Toronto) Begoña Altuna (Universidad del País Vasco) Behrooz Mansouri(Rochester Institute of Technology) Brenda Santana (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul) Bruno Martins (IST & INESC-ID, University of Lisbon) Daniel Loureiro (Cardiff University) Dennis Aumiller (Heidelberg University) Dhruv Gupta (Norwegian University of Science and Technology) Dyaa Albakour (Signal UK) **Evelin Amorim (INESC TEC)** Henrique Lopes Cardoso (LIACC & University of Porto) Hugo Sousa (INESC TEC & University of Porto) Ismail Altingovde (Middle East Technical University) Irina Rabaev (Shamoon College of Engineering) Jiexin Wang (South China University of Technology, China) João Paulo Cordeiro (INESC TEC & University of Beira Interior) Kiran Bandeli (Walmart Inc.) Liana Ermakova (HCTI, Université de Bretagne Occidentale) Luca Cagliero (Politecnico di Torino) Ludovic Moncla (INSA Lyon) Luis Filipe Cunha (INESC TEC & University of Minho) Marc Finlayson (Florida International University) Marc Spaniol (Université de Caen Normandie) Moreno La Quatra (Politecnico di Torino) Natalia Vanetik (Shamoon College of Engineering) Nuno Guimarães (INESC TEC & University of Porto) Pablo Gamallo (University of Santiago de Compostela) Pablo Gervás (Universidad Complutense de Madrid) Paulo Quaresma (Universidade de Évora) Paul Rayson (Lancaster University) Purificação Silvano (CLUP & University of Porto) Raghav Jain (Indian Institute of Technology, Patna) Ross Purves (University of Zurich) Satya Almasian (Heidelberg University) Sérgio Nunes (INESC TEC & University of Porto) Simra Shahid (Adobe's Media and Data Science Research Lab) Sriharsh Bhyravajjula (University of Washington)

Udo Kruschwitz (University of Regensburg) Valentina Bartalesi (ISTI-CNR, Italy) Veysel Kocaman (John Snow Labs & Leiden University) Wenzhi Cao (University of Wisconsin, USA) Yang Zhang (Southwestern University of Finance and Economics, China)

Web and Dissemination Chair

Hugo Sousa (INESC TEC) Behrooz Mansouri (Rochester Institute of Technology)