

GamiFIN Conference 2024

Proceedings of

the 8th International GamiFIN Conference

Ruka, Finland, April 2-5, 2024

Edited by

Prajwal D'Souza

Mila Bujić

Nannan Xi

Juho Hamari

Gamification Group, Tampere University, Finland



GamiFIN 2024

Proceedings

This volume of CEUR-WS Proceedings contains 17 papers presented at the 8th International GamiFIN Conference (GamiFIN 2024).

The conference was held in Ruka, Finland on April 2-5, 2024.

Copyright © 2024 for the individual papers by the papers' authors. Copying is permitted only for private and academic purposes. This volume is published and copyrighted by its editors.

Preface

The GamiFIN conference is an annual international academic conference on gamification with rigorous double-anonymous international peer-review practices. The conference brings together a community of researchers and practitioners to present results from their latest work regarding gamification.

The eight international GamiFIN conference took place on April 2-5 in Ruka, Finland. The conference was organized by the Gamification Group and chaired by Professors Juho Hamari and Nannan Xi.

GamiFIN 2024 featured three prominent scholars in the field as keynotes: Dr. Kathring Gerling (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany), head and professor of Human-Computer Interaction and Accessibility research group at the Institute for Anthropomatics und Robotics (IAR); Dr. Richard Landers (University of Minnesota, Unites States), Principal Investigator for TNTLAB (Testing New Technologies in Learning, Assessment and Behavior) and Professor of Industrial-Organizational Psychology; and for GamiFOREST: a UNITE Syposium, the keynote was delivered by Dr. Rob Comber (Swedish Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden), Associate Professor in Communication and Human-Computer Interaction researcher.

GamiFIN 2024 included five academic paper sessions: (e)Sports, Game-based education, @ Gamification, Wild Card, and Green, nature, and sustainability. The program structure was based on thematic grouping of accepted papers. We are proud to have authors from Catalonia, China, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Republic of Korea, and Spain. The international program committee of the conference consisted of experts on various fields related to gamification. The acceptance rate for submissions was 47.2 %.

The GamiFIN 2024 Best Paper award was presented to Georgina Guillen, Nevena Sicevic, and Juho Hamari for their paper "Gamifying responsibly: Sustainable HCI for the future".

Exceptionally, the following three GamiFIN 2024 Best Presentation awards were presented:

- Federico Bonetti, Simone Bassanelli, Antonio Bucchiarone, Federica Gini, and Annapaola Marconi for "Untitled Bee Game: Be(e)ing mean to learn more about eco-sustainability"
- Manuel F. Baer for "Designing and implementing a global multilingual real-time location-based game as a novel highly gamified spatial crowdsourcing platform"
- Georgina Guillen, Nevena Sicevic, and Juho Hamari for "Gamifying responsibly: Sustainable HCI for the future"

GamiFIN 2024 also hosted a doctoral consortium with seven international doctoral candidates and an expert panel of academic supervisors, two poster sessions with a total of 14 presentations of works-in-progress, two workshops in nature, and finally the GamiFOREST: A UNITE Symposium. GamiFOREST was hosted for the third year in a row in collaboration and as a part of the Academy of Finland Flagship competence center UNITE – Forest-Human-Machine Interplay. Altogether the conference was attended by approximately 60 participants.

As a continuation of the GamiFIN conference series, GamiFIN 2025 will be held in Finland. The exact dates and location will be announced during summer 2024.

April 2024

Prajwal D'Souza Mila Bujić Nannan Xi Juho Hamari

Organizing Committee of GamiFIN 2024

Conference Chair Juho Hamari **Academic Chairs** Juho Hamari Nannan Xi **Program Chairs** Oğuz 'Oz' Turan Buruk Georgina Guillen-Hanson **Organization Chairs** Georgina Guillen-Hanson Juhani Linna **Proceeding Chairs** Prajwal D'Souza Mila Bujić Communication and Design Chairs Xinyi Yang Diffie Bosman Velvet Spors Çağlar Genç **Technical Chair** Prajwal D'Souza **UNITE Symposium Chair** Timo Nummenmaa

Program Committee

Ali Sunyaev, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Amon Rapp, Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy

Athanasios Mazarakis, ZBW – Leibniz Information Centre for Economics, Germany

Benedikt Morschheuser, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany

Elisa Mekler, ITU Copenhagen, Denmark

Fiona Nah, Missouri University of Science and Technology, United States

J. Tuomas Harviainen, Tampere University, Finland

Kristian Kiili, Tampere University, Finland

Lennart Nacke, University of Waterloo, Canada

Lusha Huang, Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts, China

Manuel Schmidt-Kraepelin, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Seiji Isotani, Harvard University, United States

Sylvester Arnab, Coventry University, United Kingdom

Timo Nummenmaa, Tampere University, Finland

Vivian Hsueh Hua Chen, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Yuanyue Feng, Shenzhen University, China

Welf H. Weiger, Alfaisal University, Saudi Arabia

Reviewers of the academic papers

Ana Carolina Tomé Klock Juan Chen Vinod Dumblekar

Annique Smith Kun Chen Xiaoyu Miao

Ans Ahmad Lakshmi Sushma Xin Luqi

Antti Koskinen Daggubati Xinyi Yang

Bo Chang

Leah Lennig

Yamin Xu

Liliana Costa

Bojan Kerous Yang Lu
Luca Morini

Chengyuan Li

Ma Yongcong

Yanli Jia

Chien Lu Yanping Zhang

Daisy Abbott Manuel Ninaus Yini Zhao

Dion Deng Markus Makkonen Yuxiang Wang

Dong An Mikko Meriläinen Zhenxing Li

Elizabeth Cloude Muhterem Dindar Zimeng Zhu

Stefan Huber

Elpida Bampouni Petros Lameras

Galina Zvereva Pingchuan Ke

Guanghui Qiao Samaan Almasalm

Hairui Tang Samuli Laato

Henri Jalo Sandra Birnstiel

Hussain M. Aljaroodi Sascha Rank

Irene Di Gioia Shan He

Jacey Minoi Shanshan Hu

Janset Shawash Shujing Yu

Simon Warsinsky

Jari Kangas

Jeanine Kirchner-Krath

Jinting Lu Steve Nebel

Johann Giertz Tengfei Gao

Tibor Guzsvinecz

Johanna Eiting