Preface

The International Conference on Business Process Management (BPM) brings together researchers and practitioners and represents one of the most prestigious scientific events on BPM worldwide. The 14th edition of the conference was organized in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on September 18-22, 2016. The venue took place in the Othon Palace Rio Hotel, situated in front of one of the most famous and beautiful beaches in the world (Copacabana Beach), which created a perfect atmosphere.

As a novelty with respect to previous BPM Demo track editions, this year all the demonstration proposals submitted had to include a screencast showing the functionality of the tool. The BPM 2016 Demo track received 20 submissions, which were carefully reviewed by an international Program Committee composed of 36 members. Out of them 14 proposals were selected for presentation at the conference. The authors of the accepted demos were given the opportunity to also bring a poster to the demo session in order to attract audience and increase the visibility of their tool. Furthermore, after the conference, they could upload their tool to the BPM Tool Database¹.

The demo session took place on September 21. Two Demo Teaser sessions were organized simultaneously with conference coffee breaks to advertise the demos that would be presented later. The 14 accepted demos were distributed between the two time slots and the authors of each demo had 2 minutes to briefly describe their tool. The actual Demo session took place in the afternoon and was organized in the same open space where the conference coffee breaks took place, which we believe had a positive influence in the amount of audience attending the session. We are glad that some attendees stayed there until the end of the session, which showed a good acceptance of the track. The attendees could contribute to the selection of the best demo by providing anonymous votes.

The BPM 2016 Demo Award was given at the conference banquet together with the other BPM 2016 awards. The tool "PLG2: Multiperspective Process Randomization with Online and Offline Simulations" by Andrea Burattin was selected as the best BPM 2016 demo. We congratulate the author for this achievement!

We would like to thank all the authors for their submissions, the members of the Program Committee for their time, their hard work and the timely submission of their reviews, and the organizers of the BPM 2016 conference for their great support, which made this demo track possible.

Rio de Janeiro September 2016 Leonardo Azevedo Cristina Cabanillas

Available online at http://bpm-conference.org/bpt-resource-management/

Organization

Demo Chairs

Leonardo G. Azevedo Federal University of Rio de Janeiro State, Brazil

IBM Research Brazil, Brazil

Cristina Cabanillas Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria

Program Committee Members

Michael Adams Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Fernanda Araujo Baiao UNIRIO, Brazil Claudia Cappelli UNIRIO. Brazil

Jorge Cardoso University of Coimbra, Portugal Jan Claes Ghent University, Belgium

Raffaele Conforti Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Laurent D'Orazio UBP, France Gero Decker Signavio, Germany

Remco Dijkman Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

Marcelo Fantinato University of So Paulo (USP), Brazil

Juliana Jansen Ferreira PUC-RIO, Brazil

Christian Gierds Carmeq GmbH, Germany

Oliver Kopp IAAS, University of Stuttgart, Germany Geetika Lakshmanan IBM T J Watson Research Center, USA Henrik Leopold VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands

Heiko Ludwig IBM Research, USA

Andrea Magdaleno Fluminense Federal University (UFF), Brazil

Cesare Pautasso University of Lugano, Switzerland

Artem Polyvyanyy Queensland University of Technology, Australia Hajo A. Reijers Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

Stefanie Rinderle-Ma
António Rito Silva
Carlos Rodriguez
Anne Rozinat

University of Vienna, Austria
IST/INESC-ID, Portugal
University of Trento, Italy
Fluxicon, Netherlands

Nick Russell Queensland University of Technology, Australia Sherif Sakr The University of New South Wales, Australia

Vishal Saxena Roubroo, USA

Stefan Schönig University of Bayreuth, Germany

Jianwen Su University of California at Santa Barbara, USA

Roman Vaculín IBM Research, USA

Boudewijn Van Dongen Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

Ingo Weber NICTA, Australia

Mathias Weske HPI, University of Potsdam, Germany

Karsten Wolf Universität Rostock, Germany

Moe Wynn Queensland University of Technology, Australia