Preface to the SIGIR 2023 Workshop on eCommerce

This proceedings contains the accepted papers of the SIGIR 2023 Workshop on eCommerce (ECOM23), a full day workshop that took place on Thursday, July 27, 2023 in Taipei, Taiwan. The workshop was held in conjunction with SIGIR 2023. The purpose of the workshop was to serve as a platform for publication and discussion of Information Retrieval and NLP research and their applications in the domain of eCommerce.

eCommerce Information Retrieval has received little attention in the academic literature, yet it is an essential component of some of the largest web sites (such as eBay, Amazon, Airbnb, Alibaba, Taobao, Target, The Home Depot, and others). The SIGIR 2023 Workshop on eCommerce (ECOM23) brought together researchers and practitioners of eCommerce IR to discuss topics unique to it and to set a research agenda going forward. Our primary motivation as organizers of this workshop was to create a community and act as a forum to discuss interesting research ideas and challenges in the eCommerce domain. The workshop drew contributions from both industry as well as academia, in total the workshop received 28 submissions, and accepted 19 papers. The submissions were reviewed by an international program committee of high repute experts in the field, formed from representatives of several eCommerce companies and academic institutions. Each submission was reviewed by at least three reviewers. We would like to thank everyone who submitted a paper to the workshop.

In addition to presentation of a subset of accepted submissions, the workshop had three keynotes by invited speakers from the field (Prof. ChengXiang Zhai (UIUC), Tejaswi Tenneti (Instacart), and Daniel Campos (Snowflake)), a poster session where all the accepted submissions were presented, a panel discussion on foundation models and unified information access in eCommerce, and a group discussion.

We would like to thank the Program Committee members of the workshop for the their participation and reviewing efforts. We would like to thank SIGIR for hosting us. We extend our sincere gratitude to all the authors, presenters, and invited speakers for their contributions to the material and productive discussions that formed an outstanding workshop.

> Surya Kallumadi Yubin Kim Tracy Holloway King Shervin Malmasi Maarten de Rijke Jacopo Tagliabue

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

- Mozhdeh Ariannezhad
- Grigor Aslanyan
- Federico Bianchi

- Lei Chen
- Patrick John Chia
- Manoj Chinnakotla
- Young-joo Chung
- Marcus Collins
- Pradipto Das
- Giuseppe Di Fabbrizio
- Li Dong
- Fatih Gedikli
- Ciro Greco
- Stephen Guo
- Ido Guy
- Mariya Hendriksen
- Chu-Cheng Hsieh
- Saratchandra Indrakanti
- Dietmar Jannach
- Ajinkya Kale
- Jaap Kamps
- Rishabh Mehrotra
- Ipsita Mohanty
- Indraneil Paul
- Utkarsh Porwal
- Arushi Prakash
- Priya Radhakrishnan
- Zhaochun Ren
- Fatemeh Sarvi
- Venkat Srinivasan
- Zongjun Tan
- Andrew Trotman
- Anuradha Uduwage
- Nadia Vase
- Musen Wen