# Preface to the ICPM 2024 Doctoral Consortium and Demonstration Track

Jochen De Weerdt<sup>1</sup>, Giovanni Meroni<sup>2</sup>, Han van der Aa<sup>3</sup> and Karolin Winter<sup>4</sup>

This volume contains the papers presented at the Doctoral Consortium and the Demonstration Track of the 6th International Conference on Process Mining (ICPM 2024), organised by Technical University of Denmark in Lyngby, Denmark.

The Doctoral Consortium aims to provide valuable feedback on students' research topics, directions, methods and plans, to help doctoral candidates pitch their research ideas to peers and senior researchers, and to promote the development of a community of scholars that will help them in their future careers. Each of the 12 submitted research proposals has been evaluated by three members of the program committee, who provided valuable input to the doctoral candidates. Given that all proposals fit the topic and the aims of the doctoral consortium, all 12 were accepted, allowing all doctoral candidates to participate in the Consortium. The proposals cover a broad variety of process mining topics, from traditional tasks such as discovery, conformance checking, and predictions, to considerations of stochasticity, transparency, and trustworthiness. During the Doctoral Consortium itself, the doctoral candidates were given a keynote on algorithm engineering, pitched their project proposals, and discussed different aspects of research in round tables.

The Demonstration Track is intended to showcase innovative Process Mining tools and applications that may originate either from research initiatives or from industry. In this edition, the track received 35 submissions, of which 24 were accepted. A large variety of tools addressing a broad range of topics were presented. Among others, those comprised event log generation and manipulation, frameworks, platforms and editors, process discovery, compliance, and analysis, simulation and visualization. The contributions demonstrate the commitment of the research community to implementing practical applications and tools in process mining and to enabling the dissemination and use of valuable research outcomes to address concrete organisational and societal challenges.

The organisers of the Doctoral Consortium and the Demonstration Track want to express their gratitude to all individuals, institutions, and sponsors supporting ICPM 2024. Special thanks go to the Program Committees member whose contributions made the tracks a success.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>KU Leuven, Department of Decision Sciences and Information Management, Faculty of Economics and Business, Naamsestraat 69, 3000 Leuven, Belgium

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>Technical University of Denmark, Department of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science, Richard Petersens Plads Building 324, 2800 Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>University of Vienna, Faculty of Computer Science, Währinger Str. 29, 1090 Vienna, Austria

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup>Eindhoven University of Technology, Department of Industrial Engineering and Innovation Sciences, Groene Loper 3, 5612AE Eindhoven, The Netherlands

## Organisation

## **Doctoral Consortium**

#### Chairs

Han van der Aa University of Vienna, Austria

Jochen De Weerdt KU Leuven, Belgium

## **Program Committee**

Sylvio Barbon Junior University of Trieste, Italy
Iris Beerepoot Utrecht University, Netherlands
Cristina Cabanillas University of Seville, Spain
Paolo Ceravolo University of Milan, Italy

Marco Comuzzi Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea

Claudio Di Ciccio Utrecht University, Netherlands Chiara Di Francescomarino DISI - University of Trento, Italy

Johannes De Smedt KU Leuven, Belgium

Stephan Fahrenkrog-Petersen Weizenbaum-Institut/Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany

Laura Genga Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

Henrik Leopold Kühne Logistics University, Germany

Gabriel Marques Tavares LMU Munich, Germany Niels Martin Hasselt University, Belgium

Marco Pegoraro RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Jari Peeperkorn KU Leuven, Belgium

Artem Polyvyanyy The University of Melbourne, Australia Jana-Rebecca Rehse University of Mannheim, Germany

Arik Senderovich York University, Canada

Tijs Slaats University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Estefanía Serral KU Leuven, Belgium

Matthias Weidlich Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany

Jan Martijn van der Werf Utrecht University, Netherlands

### **Demonstration Track**

#### Chairs

Giovanni Meroni Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Karolin Winter Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

### **Program Committee**

Simone Agostinelli Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Abel Armas Cervantes University of Melbourne, Australia
Iris Beerepoot Utrecht University, Netherlands
Thomas Chatain Université Paris-Saclay, France

Marco Comuzzi Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea

Vlad Paul Cosma University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Massimiliano de Leoni University of Padua, Italy
Jochen De Weerdt KU Leuven, Belgium
Chiara Di Francescomarino University of Trento, Italy
Irene Bedilia Estrada Torres University of Seville, Spain

Laura Genga Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

Gert Janssenswillen Hasselt University, Belgium

Ekkart Kindler Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Sander J.J. Leemans RWTH Aachen, Germany

Francesco Leotta Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

Xixi Lu Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands Felix Mannhardt Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

Niels Martin Hasselt University, Belgium
Massimo Mecella Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Alex Mircoli Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy

Roberto Nai University of Turin, Italy Sara Pettinari University of Camerino, Italy

Domenico Potena Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy

Mahsa Pourbafrani RWTH Aachen, Germany

Majid Rafiei SAP SE, Germany

Manuel Resinas University of Seville, Spain
Lorenzo Rossi University of Camerino, Italy
Emilio Sulis University of Turin, Italy

Andrea Vandin Sant'Anna School of Advanced Studies, Italy

#### **Additional Reviewers**

Sima Sarv Ahrabi Sant'Anna School of Advanced Studies, Italy

Alessio Galassi University of Camerino, Italy

Emilio Incerto IMT School For Advanced Studies Lucca, Italy

Mattia Salnitri Politecnico di Milano, Italy Francesco Vinci University of Padua, Italy