Preface to the Doctoral Consortium, ISWC 2024

Antoine Zimmermann Mines Saint-Étienne A

Kerry Taylor Australian National University

December 2024

The ISWC 2024 Doctoral Consortium was co-located with the 23rd International Semantic Web Conference that took place in Baltimore, Maryland, USA from the 11th to the 15th of November, 2024. The doctoral consortium aims at providing a forum for doctoral students to present their work, interact with other students, get feedback from senior researchers including personalised recommendations from their assigned mentor, and finally adjust their research objectives and plans accordingly.

To reach this target, we gathered a programme committee of 24 researchers, who evaluated 16 submissions, among which 12 were accepted for presentation. The programme included presentations from the PhD students, a keynote address, a mentoring lunch and a social dinner. The keynote speaker was Kavitha Srinivas, from IBM Research, who delivered a provocative talk entitled *Lessons I unlearnt*. The mentoring lunch and the social dinner gave the students the opportunity to interact with senior researchers. In particular, each student was assigned an individual mentor, who advised the mentee, gave written feedback on the submitted document, attended the talk and offered additional feedback. Students were asked to submit a revised version of their research project, which is what these proceedings consist of.

Mentors

- Maribel Acosta, Technische Universität München, Germany
- Óscar Corcho, Universidad Politécnica Madrid, Spain
- Gianluca Demartini, University of Queensland, Australia
- Katja Hose, Technische Universität Wien, Austria
- Sabrina Kirrane, Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, Austria
- Nandana Mihindukulasooriya, IBM Research, USA
- Giuseppe Pirrò, Università della Calabria, Italy
- Axel Polleres, Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, Austria

- Cogan Shimizu, Wright State University, USA
- Hideaki Takeda, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
- Valentina Tamma, University of Liverpool, UK
- Kerry Taylor, Australian National University, Australia

Programme committee members

- Nathalie Aussenac-Gilles, IRIT CNRS, France
- Gong Cheng, Nanjing University, China
- Claudia D'Amato, University of Bari, Italy
- Catherine Faron, Université Côte d'Azur, France
- Pouya Ghiasnezhad Omran, Australian National University, Australia
- Rafael Goncalves, Harvard University, USA
- Nathalie Hernandez, IRIT, France
- Sabrina Kirrane, Vienna University of Economics and Business WU Wien, Austria
- Ora Lassila, Amazon Web Services, USA
- Maxime Lefrançois, Mines Saint-Étienne, France
- Yuan-Fang Li, Monash University, Australia
- Deshendran Moodley, University of Cape Town, South Africa
- Heiko Paulheim, University of Mannheim, Germany
- Catia Pesquita, LASIGE, Faculdade de Ciências, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
- Anne Mindika Premachandra, Australian National University, Australia
- Guilin Qi, Southeast University, China
- Sergio José Rodríguez Méndez, School of Computing / College of Engineering '& Computer Science. The Australian National University, Australia
- Ana Roxin, University of Burgundy, LIB EA7534, France
- Marta Sabou, Vienna University of Economics and Business, Australia

- Harald Sack, FIZ Karlsruhe, Leibniz Institute for Information Infrastructure & KIT Karlsruhe, Germany
- Cogan Shimizu, Wright State University, USA
- Hideaki Takeda, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
- Cassia Trojahn, UT2J & IRIT, France
- Kewen Wang, Griffith University, Australia