WIPHAL 2025

Work-in-Progress in Hardware and Software for Location Computation

June 10-12, 2026, Rome, Italy

Welcome to the 2025 edition of WIPHAL: Work-in-Progress in Hardware and Software for Location Computation to consider and discuss reliable navigation, ranging and positioning in indoor and outdoor, vehicular applications, wireless networks, wearables and consumer products. Navigation and positioning are becoming essential when guaranteeing transparent, efficient and reliable workflows. A robust localization solution, which will be available continuously is needed regardless outdoor and indoor, and on different platforms. WIPHAL addresses the latest research on software and hardware approaches of wireless and satellite-based positioning and ranging techniques to analyze and provide reliable and accurate position information with low latency.

During the workshop days we will have an intensive look to GNSS technologies and applications, as well as an outlook to various wireless technologies as enabler for precise and real-time localization. The conference takes place in Rome during June 10-12, 2025. Looking forward to meeting authors for fruitful discussion by the Scheldt river!

Prof. Jari Nurmi Tampere University



Committees:

General Chairs:

Jari Nurmi, TAU, Finland Elena-Simona Lohan, TAU, Finland

TPC Chairs:

Joaquin Torres Sospedra, University of Valencia, Spain Francesco Benedetto, University of "Roma TRE"

Publicity Chair:

Aleksandr Ometov, TAU, Finland

Steering Committee:

Jari Nurmi, TAU, Finland (chairman) Fabio Dovis, Politecnico di Torino, Italy Heidi Kuusniemi, U Vaasa, Finland Elena Simona Lohan, TAU, Finland Jose Lopez-Salcedo, UAB, Spain Terry Moore, U Nottingham, UK Adriano Moreira, U Minho, Portugal Alexander Rügamer, Fraunhofer IIS, Germany Stephan Sand, DLR, Germany Gonzalo Seco Granados, UAB, Spain Joaquin Torres Sospedra, University of Valencia, Spain

Program Committee:

Vladimir Atanasovski, Ss. Cyril and Methodius University, Macedonia Rafael Berkvens, U Antwerp, Belgium Zahidul Bhuiyan, NLS/FGI, Finland Liang Chen, WHU, China Pau Closas, Northeastern University, USA Fabio Dovis, Politecnico di Torino, Italy Emanuela Falletti, LINKS Foundation, Italy Martti Kirkko-Jaakkola, NLS/FGI, Finland Mike Koivisto, TAU, Finland Heidi Kuusniemi, U Vaasa, Finland Elena Simona Lohan, TAU, Finland Jose Lopez-Salcedo, UAB, Spain Filipe Meneses, Univ. of Minho, Portugal Adriano Moreira, Univ. of Minho, Portugal

Maria Nicolau, Univ. of Minho, Portugal

Fernando Nunes, Instituto de Telecomunicacoes, Portugal
Jari Nurmi, TAU, Finland
Aleksandr Ometov, TAU, Finland
Lorenzo Ortega, TeSA, France
Alexander Rügamer, Fraunhofer, GermanyStephan Sand, DLR, Germany
Gonzalo Seco Granados, UAB, Spain
Joaquin Torres-Sospedra, UJI, Spain
Jesus Ureña, University of Alcala, Spain
Klaus Witrisal, TU Graz, Austria